Videos courtesy of Brittany Anania

PHOTO CREDIT: Budd Perry of Memories Studio. August 14, 2014

Dedication Program (download PDF)

The public is invited to attend
The Dedication of the 1614 Monument
Commemorating the 400th Anniversary of Captain John Smith's Expedition to
and Mapping of New England

Thursday, August 14, 2014
Rye, New Hampshire

Period music and native American culture demonstrations - 10:30 a.m.
Dedication ceremony begins promptly at 11:00 a.m.

Dedication Ceremony
Remarks by W. Jeffrey Bolster, Professor of History, University of New Hampshire
Recitation of Capt. John Smith’s Speech by Paul Strand
Comments by State and Local Officials
**Gov. Maggie Hassan has been invited to attend the Dedication**
1614 Monument Commission and ex officio members:
Rep. David Campbell, Chair; Sen. Nancy Stiles, Vice Chair
Rep. Tracy Emerick; Sen. Martha Fuller Clark; Rep. Tom Sherman
Mae Bradshaw, Rye Heritage Commission; Molly Bolster; Angela Matthews, Star Island Corporation
Commissioner Van McLeod and Shelly Angers, Dept. of Cultural Resources
Tom Mansfield and Ben Wilson, Division of Parks and Recreation

Parking will be free for this event 

Contributors to the Construction of the Monument:
Swenson Granite Works: Kurt Swenson, Dennis Ames
Pike Industries, Inc.: Larry Major, Christian Zimmerman
RediMix Companies: David Bissonette
SLX Construction, LLC: Ben Robbins
Dept. of Administrative Services, Bureau of Public Works: Jobie Chase
Dept. of Transportation: Mark Richardson, Dan Mitchell
Norman B. Leventhal Map Center of the Boston Public Library

Granite Bench Donations:
Mae Bradshaw, Frank & Josephine Concemi
Beverly Reynolds Giblin
Tom, Heather & Darla Mahoney
Geraldine & Michael Mittelman

A Special “Thank You” to:
Governor Maggie Hassan
Councilor Christopher T. Sununu and the entire Executive Council
Dept. of Resources and Economic Development Comm. Jeffrey Rose
Dept. of Cultural Resources Comm. Van McLeod and Shelly Angers
Dept. Transportation Comm. Christopher Clement and Asst. Comm. William Cass
House Public Works & Highways Committee
Senate Capital Budget Committee
Town of Rye, New Hampshire


Amy Campbell
Kyle Barker Architects
Exeter Events & Tents
A.H. Harris

Nancy LeVinus
Budd Perry of Memories Studio
Molloy Sound and Video Contractors
N.H. Granite Company
Outdoor Pride of Rye
Saymore Trophy Company
Dale Sprague
Star Island Corporation